Happy Birthday to Me

Today is my birthday and I am officially 28.

I know that everyone says this, but it feels like the last ten years of my life just flew passed me.  I remember turning 18 like it was yesterday.  I had been begging my mom to let me pierce my belly button since I was 16.  I counted down the days to my eighteenth birthday just for the sole fact that I could finally pierce my belly-button and be like Britney Spears.  Of course, the day came and being the determined girl I am, I pierced my belly button and I felt like the coolest, most bad-a** girl on the planet!  I may or may not have spent the next few months dancing in my room with my shirt rolled up while listening to “Slave For You.”

At 18, I was naive, passionate, determined, and unprepared all at the same time.  I thought that the world was on my side and I dreamed bigger than anyone I had ever known.  You couldn’t tell me that my dreams weren’t going to come true because I just knew without a shadow of a doubt that they would.

Fast forward ten years.  The 18 year old girl who had planned on dominating the world would have never believed that I am where I am now.  At 18, she probably wouldn’t like it.  But yet as I look over the last decade of my life, I can see God’s hand protecting me all throughout my failures and mistakes.  I’m not where I wanted to be, but I am learning that sometimes God protects us from our own dreams.

In a lot of ways, I am still very much like that 18 year old girl I once was.  I still dream of being known and of singing.  I still have my belly button pierced and I still love reminding my mother of that fact. I still drive around blasting Faith Hill and Britney imagining myself on that stage.  I still have big dreams.  But unlike that 18 year old girl, I know that God’s timing is really the only timing.  His ways are worth waiting for.  His dreams are better than my dreams.

In the last year of my life, I’ve seen God’s redemptive grace over my life than ever before.  Time and time again he reminds me that he’s on my side.  Time  hasn’t been wasted.  Time and time again, he exceeds my expectations.

Life really does get better with every year.  I am excited for this year.  I am excited for 28.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

One thought on “Happy Birthday to Me

Leave a Reply

