This Little Light of Mine…

I love how creative God is. He’s created this amazing and vast Eco-system that he uses to guide us back to him.

A few years ago, I was living in Pennsylvania and I was taking a walk by myself, as I often found myself doing there. Fireflies were a new wonder for me. Growing up in Arizona, I never got to experience fireflies in the heart of summer. So being in PA, I was in constant awe each night when the fireflies would come out to shine.

What struck me the most is that not a single firefly ever tried to outshine the other. They just use what they have and create a sparkle. There’s no shame or disapproval if one’s light goes out. The others will shine for them and carry the light until it’s ready to join back in. It’s a constant dance of sparkle and gold in the dead of night; and no matter how cold the winter was, they always come back, never lacking in number and beauty.

It’s such a simple message. We need each other to shine. Yet, many of us spend our time either hiding behind the bushes waiting for someone to validate our light, or expending all our energy in the hopes to outshine others.  A lot of us live life a little like this…

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine…unless you don’t think my light is good enough

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine…LOOK, I’M SHINING AND DOING EVERYTHING RIGHT! LOOK!

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine…unless you make fun of me…unless my pastor doesn’t pay enough attention to me…unless you intimidate me…unless you offend me or look at me wrong…unless you critique me.

You see,  there is nothing wrong with being noticed or being seen.  You were created to be a light and to draw attention.  The problem begins when we start shining our light for others because at that moment, we begin worshiping people instead of worshiping our creator. Don’t be afraid to let your light out.  A wise man by the name of Nelson Mandela said, “Once we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.”

a941f99bd3c9a86e5be1b182a1e5afc2

3 thoughts on “This Little Light of Mine…

  1. Wonderful perspective. It’s a great lesson for us all. I was taught as a child to stifle my light, not to draw attention. As an adult and a parent I’ve come a long way in realizing God created us to shine exactly how he made us.

    • what would happened if you read what you wrote but read it stepping back from it and seeing what it says to you, and how would you feel doing that and would you write your thoughts and feelings here….. about what you experienced

Leave a Reply

